Indonesia’s Declaration of Independence ignited socio-economic activities, including sports. It is with this backdrop that the Indonesian Olympic Committee was founded in Yogyakarta on January 19, 1947. Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono IX served as the committee’s first-ever Chairman/President.

Sultan Hamengkubuwono IX went straight into action as he took office, making contact with the International Olympic Committee (IOC), sending an official letter expressing Indonesia’s wish to join the IOC’s membership. Furthermore, that same year, he wrote a letter in French (one of IOC’s official languages) stating Indonesia’s intention to participate in the 1948 Olympic Games, due to be held in London. This is a significant milestone, as the 1948 Olympics will be the first Games to be held after World War II.

Unfortunately, the political and security situation took a turn for the worse as the Dutch launched a military aggression campaign, cutting off Indonesia’s communication with the international world, thus Indonesia’s debut at the Olympics was postponed.

As the political-security situation improved, with several rounds of conferences being key to bringing stability, sporting events began to take place. In 1951, the National Games(Pekan Olahraga Nasional/PON) was held in Jakarta, marking the second time the biggest national multi-sport event was held (the first edition was held in 1948, with Solo as the host city).

The success of the National Games prompted the Committee to once again reach out to the IOC in 1952. In a letter dated February 25th, the Committee outlined that it has formalized an organizational statute, which conforms with the principles of the Olympic Charter. The Committee also expressed its intention to compete in the 1952 Olympic Games, taking place in Helsinki, the capital of Finland.

A month later, the IOC’s Chancellor, Otto Mayer, delivered his response stating that Indonesia has been recognized as a member of the IOC. Every year, on the 11th of March, is now commemorated as the anniversary of Indonesia’s National Olympic Committee. The letter also included information that the Organizing Committee of Helsinki Olympics will send an official invitation to Indonesia.

The 1952 Olympics marks Indonesia’s coming out on the international sporting stage. Three athletes from three different sports formed the first Olympics contingent, they are Maram Sudarmodjo (athletics), Habib Suharko (swimming), and Ging Hwie Thio (weightlifting).


The National Olympic Committee of Indonesia is a non-profit, independent, national organization. The Committee was established on January 19, 1947, and becomes a member of the IOC on March 11, 1952. The Committee’s remit is to organize Indonesia’s participation in international multi-sports events. Before 2005, NOC Indonesia was part of the National Sports Committee of Indonesia (Komite Olahraga Nasional Indonesia/KONI), but become an independent organization as regulated in Law No.3 (2005), and further in Government Regulation No. 17 (2007).